The pigeons

Le 19 March 2020

The pigeons installed in our cities mainly belong to two species:

The wood pigeon, native to the countryside and forest areas.

he bisque pigeon, formerly native to the coasts and rocky zones.

Effects on humans 

Pigeons are a reservoir of potentially pathogenic microorganisms for humans. This therefore represents a health risk to be taken into consideration. Their droppings are in particular carriers of germs of various diseases. They can be transmitted by two main vectors, inhalation and contact.

Ornithosis, also called psittacosis or chlamydia, it results in an influenza-like illness which can progress to pneumonia in the most serious cases. It is a reportable disease when diagnosed.

Note that cryptococcosis, Newcastle disease and salmonellosis are not specific to pigeons and can affect all species of birds. To date, even if medical treatments are administered, there are no preventive vaccines against this type of disease. 

The most exposed populations are people in permanent contact with birds (pigeon fanciers, veterinarians). Technical agents may also be affected. In this case, the probability of transmission to humans is greater for people who have to clean buildings or urban surfaces. 

The risk of contracting such diseases remains moderate. The risk of zoonosis (West Nile virus) transmitted by the pigeon remains marginal and in 95% of cases not serious.

IF IN A DOUBT AND FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT US

Les Pigeons

Le 19 mars 2020

Les pigeons installés dans nos villes appartiennent principalement à deux espèces :

Le pigeon ramier (aussi appelé palombe), originaire des campagnes et zones forestières. 

Le pigeon biset, autrefois originaire des côtes et zones rocheuses, 

Les effets sur l’homme 

Les pigeons constituent un réservoir de micro-organismes potentiellement pathogènes pour l’homme. Cela représente donc un risque sanitaire à prendre en considération. Leurs excréments sont notamment porteurs de germes de différentes maladies. Elles peuvent se transmettre selon deux vecteurs principaux, l’inhalation et le contact.

 Ornithose, également appelée psittacose ou chlamydiose, elle se traduit par un syndrome grippal pouvant évoluer en pneumonie dans les cas les plus graves. C’est une maladie à déclaration obligatoire quand elle est diagnostiquée. 

À noter que la cryptococcose, la maladie de Newcastle et la salmonellose ne sont pas spécifiques aux pigeons et peuvent concerner toutes les espèces d’oiseaux. À ce jour, même si des traitements médicaux sont administrés, il n’existe pas de vaccins préventifs contre ce type de maladies. 

Les populations les plus exposées sont les personnes en contact permanent avec les oiseaux (colombophiles, vétérinaires). Les agents technique peuvent être aussi concernés. Dans ce cas, la probabilité de transmission à l’homme est plus importante pour les personnes amenées à nettoyer des bâtiments ou des surfaces urbaines. 

Le risque de contraction de telles maladies reste modéré. Le risque de zoonose (virus West Nile) transmise par le pigeon reste marginal et dans 95% des cas sans gravité. 

EN CAS DE DOUTES ET POUR PLUS DE RENSEIGNEMENTS, N’HESITEZ PAS A NOUS CONTACTER