Mosquitoes

Le 23 March 2020

Mosquitoes are a family of insects called Culicidae. 

Source of nuisance by bites, they are the most important group of vectors of pathogenic agents transmissible to humans: the plasmodium (causing malaria), wired (parasitic worms)

They are present as soon as a surface of fresh or brackish water, even reduced or temporary, is available.

Morphology of the various stages of development

Mosquitoes are holometabolous insects going through 4 stages of development: egg, larva, nymph and adults. The first three are aquatic, the last aerial. The total duration of this development, strongly influenced by the temperature, is 10 to 15 days for the tropical zones of the world which gather the highest densities of species.

Life expectancy can vary from two to three weeks for some species, to several months for others. In diapause, the life expectancy of some mosquitoes can reach several months

Ecosystem services

The mosquito plays a role in many food chains. Both male and female adults participate in pollinating plants by feeding on their nectar.

Mosquitoes have a rhythmic, seasonal and nycthemeral activity.

For mating, males and females form a swarm, shortly after sunset, a few meters from the ground. Each female will be fertilized once for her entire life. The humming characteristic of mosquitoes is only emitted by females. It allows males to spot them, each species having its own characteristic frequency.

The females are blood-sucking, the blood meal being essential for the laying. For blood-sucking species, blood supply is necessary for spawning. The adult female bites the animals to collect their blood, which contains the proteins necessary for eggs to mature.

During the bite, the female injects anticoagulant saliva which, in humans, causes a more or less significant allergic inflammatory reaction depending on the individual: it is the formation of an "itch". The amount of blood collected varies from 4 to 10 mm3 in 1 to 2 minutes.

Behaviour

Forty-eight hours after taking the blood meal, the fertilized females lay their eggs, depending on the species: on the surface of permanent or temporary water, stagnant or running, in natural or artificial receptacles or on floodplains (swamp , rice field…). The total fertility of a female varies according to the species from 500 to 2000 eggs. These eggs develop in one to two days and hatch, giving birth to first-stage aquatic larvae which have a respiratory siphon in contact with air at the end of the abdomen

The duration of the larval stage is approximately seven days (if the external conditions are favorable: water quality, temperature and food mainly). Adults live according to conditions and species for 15 to 40 days, except for certain species whose females can overwinter.

The larvae feed and remain at rest below the surface of the water, breathing through their spiracles which are flush with the surface. Finally, some genera of Culicinae have their larvae immersed, breathing through the stem of a plant in which they insert their siphon (Coquillettidia, mansonia, some species of the genus Mymomyia). The larvae go through four larval stages, resulting in an increase in their size, and metamorphose into a pupa.

The nymph is aquatic and breathes atmospheric air using these two respiratory trumpets. The abdominal end of the pupa is flattened in paddles or fins. The nymph does not feed. It is a stage of transition to the adult during which the insect undergoes profound physiological and morphological changes.

From the pupa the flying adult will emerge after two to five days.

The bite and its treatment

The bites can be completely painless but can go as far as causing more serious allergies, going exceptionally to anaphylactic shock. 

Various remedies are more or less effective depending on the person and the time of application. Marseille soap has a calming effect (rub in the place of the bite). 

Direct application of a cloth soaked in very hot but not boiling water can block the release of histamine around the bite for a few hours. Finally, any cortisone-based cream is effective given their anti-inflammatory effect.

Main diseases transmitted to humans by mosquitoes:

IF IN DOUBT AND FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT US

Les Moustiques

Le 23 mars 2020

Les moustiques forment une famille d’insectes appelée Culicidae. 

Source de nuisance par les piqûres, ils sont le plus important groupe de vecteurs d’agents pathogènes transmissibles à l’être humain: le plasmodium (causant le paludisme), filaire (des vers parasites)

Ils sont présents dès qu’une surface d’eau douce ou saumâtre, même réduite ou temporaire, est disponible.

Morphologie des divers stades de développement

Les moustiques sont des insectes holométaboles passant par 4 phases de développement : œuf, larve, nymphe et adultes. Les trois premiers sont aquatiques, le dernier aérien. La durée totale de ce développement, fortement influencé par la température, est de 10 à 15 jours pour les zones tropicales du monde qui rassemblent les plus fortes densités d’espèces.

L’espérance de vie peut varier de deux à trois semaines pour certaines espèces, à plusieurs mois pour d’autres. En état de diapause, l’espérance de vie de certains moustiques peut atteindre plusieurs mois.

Services écosystémiques

Le moustique joue un rôle au sein de nombreuses chaînes alimentaires. Les adultes mâles et femelles participent à la pollinisation des plantes en se nourrissant de leur nectar.

Les moustiques ont une activité rythmée, saisonnière et nycthémérale.

En vue de l’accouplement, mâles et femelles forment un essaim, peu après le coucher du soleil, à quelques mètres du sol. Chaque femelle sera fécondée une seule fois pour toute sa vie. Le bourdonnement caractéristique des moustiques n’est émis que par les femelles. Il permet aux mâles de les repérer, chaque espèce ayant sa propre fréquence caractéristique.

Les femelles sont hématophages, le repas de sang étant indispensable à la ponte. Pour les espèces hématophages, l’alimentation en sang est nécessaire à la ponte. La femelle adulte pique les animaux pour prélever leur sang, qui contient les protéines nécessaires à la maturation des œufs.

Pendant la piqûre, la femelle injecte de la salive anticoagulante qui, chez l’humain, provoque une réaction allergique inflammatoire plus ou moins importante selon les individus : c’est la formation d’un «bouton» qui démange. La quantité de sang prélevée varie de 4 à 10 mm3 en 1 à 2 minutes.

Comportement

Quarante-huit heures après la prise du repas de sang, les femelles fécondées déposent leurs œufs, selon les espèces : à la surface d’eaux permanentes ou temporaires, stagnantes ou courantes, dans des réceptacles naturels ou artificiels ou sur des terres inondables (marécage, rizière25…). La fécondité totale d’une femelle varie selon les espèces de 500 à 2000 œufs. Ces œufs se développent en un à deux jours et éclosent, donnant naissance à des larves aquatiques de premier stade qui possèdent au bout de l’abdomen un siphon respiratoire en contact avec l’air. 

La durée du stade larvaire est d’environ sept jours (si les conditions extérieures sont favorables : qualité de l’eau, température et nourriture essentiellement). Les adultes vivent selon les conditions et les espèces de 15 à 40 jours, excepté pour certaines espèces dont les femelles peuvent hiverner.

Les larves s’alimentent et se maintiennent au repos sous la surface de l’eau, respirant par leurs spiracles qui affleurent la surface. Enfin, certains genres de Culicinae ont leurs larves immergées, respirant par l’intermédiaire de la tige d’un végétal dans lequel elles insèrent leur siphon (CoquillettidiaMansonia, quelques espèces du genre Mymomyia). Les larves passent par quatre stades larvaires se traduisant par une augmentation de leur taille, et se métamorphosent en une nymphe.

La nymphe est aquatique et respire l’air atmosphérique au moyen de ces deux trompettes respiratoires. L’extrémité abdominale de la nymphe est aplatie en palettes ou nageoires. La nymphe ne se nourrit pas. Il s’agit d’un stade de transition vers l’adulte durant lequel l’insecte subit de profonds remaniements physiologiques et morphologiques.

De la nymphe émergera au bout de deux à cinq jours l’adulte volant.

La piqûre et son traitement

Les piqûres peuvent être totalement indolores mais peuvent aller jusqu’à provoquer des allergies plus graves, allant exceptionnellement jusqu’au choc anaphylactique. 

Divers remèdes sont plus ou moins efficaces selon les personnes et les délais d’application. Le savon de Marseille a un effet calmant (frotter à l’endroit de la piqûre). 

L’application directe d’un tissu imbibé d’eau très chaude mais non bouillante peut bloquer quelques heures le dégagement d’histamine autour de la piqûre. Finalement, toute crème à base de cortisone est efficace étant donné leur effet anti-inflammatoire.

Principales maladies transmises à l’homme par les moustiques

EN CAS DE DOUTES ET POUR PLUS DE RENSEIGNEMENTS, N’HÉSITEZ PAS À NOUS CONTACTER