Processionary caterpillars

Le 29 May 2020

The pine processionary caterpillar is the larva of a moth, Thaumetopoea pityocampa. It is part of the order Lepidoptera, the family Notodontidae and subfamily Thaumetopoeinae.

The butterfly is the "adult" form of the caterpillar that hatched during the summer. This hatching takes place between June and September depending on the climate.

The female butterfly looks for a pine (Austrian black pine, Corsican laricio, Salzman, Monterey pine, maritime, Scots and Aleppo pine) and to a lesser extent a cedar to lay its eggs.

Hatching takes place five to six weeks after laying. It gives birth to caterpillars which moult three times before winter. Dates vary by region, which is likely related to humidity, temperature and thermal range. Temperature spikes (hot or cold) can temporarily stop feeding the track.

At this stage, they are not yet stinging.

In the fourth larval stage, they form a large, definitive winter nest, built on the south side to take advantage of the sun's rays. They come out at night to eat. They move in “procession” following a silk thread which allows them to return to the nest. The cohesion of the moving file is ensured by the contact of the head of a caterpillar with the hairs of the abdomen of the one preceding it. Thanks to solar radiation, the temperature inside the nest can be several degrees higher than room temperature.

In spring, the caterpillars in procession lead by a female, leave the tree to go and bury themselves in the ground a few centimeters underground (5 to 20 cm) in a very sunny place. The processions can move up to 40 m.

Wrestling techniques

WARNING ! Whichever method you choose, don't take unnecessary risks.

The fight against pine processionary caterpillars can take many forms. The actions to be implemented obviously do not depend on the administrative dates of the seasons, but are linked to the insect cycle which can vary according to regions and climatic conditions.

There is no way to permanently get rid of the caterpillars. Treatments must be repeated every year. Even if you destroy all the living caterpillars on your land, your trees will be re-infested the following year by butterflies that may have come from several kilometers away. The male butterfly can fly up to 25 km and the female butterfly up to 3 km and more the caterpillars can remain buried in the ground from a few days to 5 years. These annual treatments must therefore be maintained as long as nests exist in your region.

Ecological measures

- Improve the biodiversity of stands (hardwoods) in order to slow down the spread of the insect and favor the parasitic procession.
- In forests frequented by the public and subject to being able to choose another species, avoid planting black pines in areas favorable to the caterpillar.

Biological phytosanitary treatment (aerial or terrestrial)

- Apply a treatment with a biological insecticide based on Bacillus thuringiensis (BT kurtstaki, serotype 3a3b), bacteria with entomopathogenic properties.

Chemical phytosanitary treatment (terrestrial)

- Apply a treatment with an insecticide from the benzoylureas family: diflubenzuron.
- Acts by ingestion, disrupts the moulting process without stopping feeding.
- Acts by contact, non-selective, to be used in winter (stages L3 and above). To reserve for interventions of small scale or possible catch-up.

Mechanical wrestling

- Cut and burn the branches carrying spawns, pre-nests and nests.
- In the event of a one-off attack, on easily accessible trees. Protect yourself carefully against the risk of hives (coveralls, mask, glasses, gloves).

Trapping by sexual confusion

- Use a synthetic pheromone as a lure: pheromone traps to capture the male butterflies of the processionary.

Biological control 

- Encourage the establishment of predators and parasites:  chickadee nest box...

There are few predators. Only the cuckoo attacks the caterpillars, sometimes even in their nest and the chickadee drives out the first larval form and sometimes when they are in procession.

(*) Source: Ministry of Agriculture and Fisheries - Department of Forest Health - Technical Information N ° 57 October 2007 

Damage

Depending on the species and the type of stand, the intensity of the damage is very variable. In the mountains, the processionary is only present on the southern slopes (sunny crowns, edges...).

Even total defoliation does not cause the mortality of affected trees. It results in a loss of production which is equivalent at most (if defoliation has been total) to about one year of increase. The trees recover in a few years. If their growing conditions are satisfactory, they are perfectly capable of withstanding this attack.

Weakened trees (climate, location, etc.) or susceptible to repeated defoliation (in the case of young plantations) may suffer more durably from these attacks, and become less resistant to attacks by weak enemies such as bark beetles or pissode . Mortalities, exceptionally observed, occur as a result of such sequences.

Source: Ministry of Agriculture - Department of Forest Health

Risks for humans and animals

The processionary caterpillars are covered with hairs which, dispersed by the wind or by ourselves (mowing the lawn, trying to destroy a procession ...) can cause irritation in people and animals. The stinging apparatus of the processionary caterpillar takes place during larval development.

When the hair breaks, at the first contact, the stinging and allergenic substance it contains, "thaumetopoeine", is released causing very intense itching. These irritations are characterized by erythema or itchy rashes sometimes accompanied by ocular or pulmonary involvement or even more serious allergic reactions such as angioedema or anaphylactic shock.

The clinical symptoms presented during direct or indirect exposure to processionary caterpillars are as follows:

IF IN DOUBT AND FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT US

Chenilles processionnaires

Le 29 mai 2020

La chenille processionnaire du pin est la larve d’un papillon de nuit, le Thaumetopoea pityocampa. Elle fait partie de l’ordre des Lépidoptères, de la famille des Notodontidae et de sous-famille des Thaumetopoeinae.

Le papillon est la forme « adulte » de la chenille qui aura éclos durant l’été. Cette éclosion a lieu entre juin et septembre selon le climat.

La femelle papillon recherche un pin (pin noir d’Autriche, laricio de Corse, Salzman, pin de Monterey, maritime, sylvestre et pin d’Alep) et dans une moindre mesure un cèdre pour y pondre ses oeufs

L’éclosion a lieu cinq à six semaines après la ponte. Elle donne naissance à des chenilles qui muent trois fois avant l’hiver. Les dates varient selon la région, ce qui est probablement liées à l’humidité, à la température ainsi qu’à l’amplitude thermique. Les pics de température (chaud ou froid) peuvent stopper provisoirement l’alimentation de la chenille. 
Plus on monte vers le nord et en altitude, plus la larve se développe lentement, en abrégeant la diapause nymphale.

A ce stade, elles ne sont pas encore urticantes.

Au quatrième stade larvaire, elles forment un nid volumineux d’hiver définitif, construit côté sud pour profiter des rayons du soleil. Elles en sortent la nuit pour s’alimenter. Elles se déplacent en « procession » suivant un fil de soie qui leur permet de rentrer au nid. La cohésion de la file en déplacement est assurée par le contact de la tête d’une chenille avec les poils de l’abdomen de celle qui la précède. Grâce aux rayonnements solaires, la température à l’intérieur du nid peut être supérieure de plusieurs degrés à la température ambiante.

Au printemps, les chenilles en procession conduitent par une femelle, quittent l’arbre pour aller s’enfouir dans le sol à quelques centimètres sous terre (5 à 20 cm) dans un endroit bien ensoleillé. Les processions peuvent se déplacer jusqu’à 40 m.

Techniques de lutte

ATTENTION ! Quelle que soit la méthode envisagée, ne prenez pas de risques inutiles.

La lutte contre les chenilles processionnaires du pin peut prendre différentes formes. Les actions à mettre en oeuvre ne dépendent évidemment pas des dates administratives des saisons, mais sont liées au cycle de l’insecte qui peut varier selon les régions et les conditions climatiques.

Il n’existe aucun moyen de se débarrasser définitivement des chenilles. Les traitements sont à refaire chaque année. En effet, même si l’on détruit toutes les chenilles vivantes sur son terrain , vos arbres seront ré infestés l’année suivante par des papillons pouvant provenir de plusieurs kilomètres. Le papillon mâle peut voler jusqu’a 25 km et le papillon femelle jusqu’à 3 km et de plus les chenilles peuvent rester enfouies dans le sol de quelques jours à 5 années. 
Ces traitements annuels doivent donc être maintenus tant que des nids existent dans votre région.

Mesures écologiques

– Améliorer la biodiversité des peuplements (feuillus) afin de freiner la propagation de l’insecte et de favoriser le cortège parasitaire.
– Dans les forêts fréquentées par le public et sous réserve de pouvoir choisir une autre essence, éviter les plantations de pins noirs dans les secteurs favorables à la chenille.

Traitement phytosanitaire biologique (aérien ou terrestre)

– Appliquer un traitement avec un insecticide biologique à base de Bacillus thuringiensis (BT kurtstaki, sérotype 3a3b), bactérie aux propriétés entomopathogènes.

Traitement phytosanitaire chimique (terrestre)

– Appliquer un traitement avec un insecticide de la famille des benzoylurées : le diflubenzuron.
– Agit par ingestion, perturbe le processus de mue sans arrêter l’alimentation.
– Agit par contact, non sélectif, à employer en période hivernale (stades L3 et plus). A réserver aux interventions de faible ampleur ou de rattrapage éventuel.

Lutte mécanique

– Couper et brûler les branches porteuses de pontes, pré-nids et nids.
– En cas d’attaque ponctuelle, sur des arbres facilement accessibles. Se protéger soigneusement contre les risques d’urtication (combinaison, masque, lunettes, gants).

Piégeage par confusion sexuelle

– Utiliser une phéromone de synthèse comme leurre : les pièges à phéromones pour capturer les papillons mâle de la processionnaire.

Lutte biologique 

– Favoriser l’implantation des prédateurs et parasites : nichoir à mésange

Il y a peu de prédateurs. Seul le coucou s’attaque aux chenilles, parfois même dans leur nid et la mésange chasse la première forme larvaire et parfois lorsqu’elles sont en procession.

(*) Source : Ministère de l’agriculture et de la pêche – Département de la santé des forêts – Information technique N° 57 Octobre 2007 

Dégâts

Selon l’essence et le type de peuplement, l’intensité des dégâts est très variable. En montagne, la processionnaire est uniquement présente sur les versants sud (houppiers ensoleillés, lisières,…).

Une défoliation même totale ne provoque pas la mortalité des arbres atteints. Elle entraîne une perte de production qui équivaut au plus (si la défoliation a été totale) à environ une année d’accroissement. Les arbres récupèrent en quelques années. Si leurs conditions de croissance sont satisfaisantes, ils sont parfaitement capables de supporter cette attaque.

Les arbres affaiblis (climat, station, …) ou susceptibles de subir des défoliations répétées (cas des jeunes plantations) peuvent souffrir plus durablement de ces atteintes, et devenir moins résistants à des attaques d’ennemis de faiblesse tels que les scolytes ou le pissode. Les mortalités, exceptionnellement observées, se produisent à la suite de tels enchaînements.

Source :Ministère de l’agriculture – Département de la santé des forêts

Risques pour l’homme et les animaux

Les chenilles processionnaires sont recouvertes de poils qui, dispersés par le vent ou par nous même (tonte de la pelouse, en essayant de détruire une procession…) peuvent provoquer une irritation chez les personnes et les animaux. L’appareil urticant de la chenille processionnaire se met en place au cours du développement larvaire.

Lorsque le poil se brise, dès le premier contact, la substance urticante et allergisante qu’il contient, la « thaumétopoéïne », se libère provoquant des démangeaisons très vives. Ces irritations se caractérisent par des érythèmes ou des éruptions prurigineux accompagnés parfois d’atteintes oculaires ou pulmonaires voire des réactions allergiques plus graves telles que les oedèmes de Quincke ou les chocs anaphylactiques.

Les symptômes cliniques présentés en cours d’une exposition directe ou indirecte aux chenilles processionnaires sont les suivants :

EN CAS DE DOUTES ET POUR PLUS DE RENSEIGNEMENTS, N’HÉSITEZ PAS À NOUS CONTACTER