Moths

Le 12 March 2020

Mite

The food moth

It looks like a small butterfly in brown / gray tones; it is up to 25 mm wingspan and lives for about 2 weeks.

Her reproductive cycle is that of butterflies: a female can lay between 200 and 300 white eggs. After 4 days, the larvae are born and after about 1 month, after passing through the chrysalis (the cocoon), this results in a multitude of mites which are ready to feast on your foodstuffs in sachets. It can be born between 3 and 6 generations per year. The moth's development capacity is exponential.

It is important to pay attention to the condition of the food packaging (flour, sugar ...) and to change the container for glass, plastic.

The clothes moth

The textile moth, also called ringworm, is a small butterfly. The larva of this species can only complete its life cycle by feeding on animal fibers such as wool, hair and feathers.

The female prefers to lay her eggs in dark and quiet corners, near animal materials (eg wardrobe, storage room, chest, attic, etc.). The whitish eggs measure 0.5 mm and are very difficult to observe in the tissues. At birth, the small larva measures almost 1 mm.

When temperatures are 25 to 30 Celsius, the larva completes its cycle in 2 months. At the end of its larval stage, it measures almost 10mm. With the animal material on which it feeds, it will make a small cocoon in the shape of a tube.

The adult emerges after 1 to 2 weeks. It has atrophied mouthparts and is therefore unable to feed. At room temperature, the butterfly can live up to 14 days. Once mated, the female will be able to lay up to 250 eggs during her lifetime.

Keep your closets and cupboards closed

Inspect your second-hand clothes, which are generally less worn

Vacuum your wool rugs regularly

Please insulate the house well, as butterflies can enter through very small openings (ventilation, walls, etc.).

IF IN DOUBT AND FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT US

Les mites

Le 12 mars 2020

Mite

La mite alimentaire

Elle ressemble à un petit papillon dans les tons bruns/gris ; elle mesure jusqu’à 25 mm d’envergure et vit environ 2 semaines.

Son cycle de reproduction est celui des papillons : une femelle peut pondre entre 200 et 300 œufs blancs. Après 4 jours, les larves naissent et au bout d’environ 1 mois, après le passage dans la chrysalide (le cocon), il en résulte une multitude de mites qui sont prêtes à se régaler de vos denrées en sachet. Il peut naître entre 3 et 6 générations par an. La capacité de développement de la mite est exponentielle.

Il est important de prêter attention à l’état de l’emballage des aliments (farine, sucre…) et de changer de contenant pour du verre, plastique.

La mite de vêtements

La mite du textile, aussi appelée teigne du vêtement, est un petit papillon. La larve de cette espèce peut seulement compléter son cycle vital en s’alimentant de fibres animales comme la laine, les poils et les plumes.

La femelle préfère pondre ses œufs dans les coins sombres et tranquilles, à proximité de matières animales (ex. garde-robe, salle de rangement, coffre, grenier, etc.). Les œufs blanchâtres mesurent 0,5 mm et sont très difficiles à observer dans les tissus. À la naissance, la petite larve mesure près de 1 mm.

Lorsque les températures sont de 25 à 30 Celsius, la larve complète son cycle en 2 mois. À la fin de son stade larvaire, elle mesure près de 10mm. Avec la matière animale dont elle se nourrit, elle fabriquera un petit cocon en forme de tube.

L’adulte émerge après 1 à 2 semaines. Il possède des pièces buccales atrophiées et n’est donc pas capable de se nourrir. À température pièce, le papillon peut vivre jusqu’à 14 jours. Une fois accouplée, la femelle pourra pondre jusqu’à 250 œufs au cours de sa vie.

Gardez vos garde-robes et les armoires fermées

Inspectez vos vêtements de grande occasion, qui sont généralement moins portés

Passez régulièrement l’aspirateur dans vos tapis de laine

Veuillez à bien isoler la maison, car les papillons peuvent entrer par de très petites ouvertures (ventilation, murs, etc.).

EN CAS DE DOUTES ET POUR PLUS DE RENSEIGNEMENTS, N’HÉSITEZ PAS À NOUS CONTACTER