THE RAT

Le 12 March 2020

The rat acts either as a reservoir for the microbe (bacteria, virus or parasite) which it harbors without transforming it. Or as an intermediate host in the parasite's cycle (which will transform in the rat's organism and become infectious there for humans).

It is then infectious either by its bite, or by its droppings, or by its blood drawn and transmitted to humans via a vector (insect, tick).

Le rat brun ou rat d'égout

Brown rat or rat, mango rat or Norway rat

Physical characteristics

The adult rat has a size between 20 and 28cm without counting the tail. Its tail is 17 to 23 cm long. Adult, its body mass varies according to sex between 200 gr to more than 650 gr.

His life expectancy is around 18 months

Food

The brown rat is an omnivorous opportunist. It feeds on everything it manages to steal unlike other animals. A rat eats and drinks the equivalent of 10% of its weight daily. The food preferences of the brown rat are close to that of the cat, since it prefers meat to fruits and cereals, although depending on the circumstances it may consume only cereals.

The brown rat is extremely careful when discovering any new food. He can sometimes wait several days before tasting a food he does not recognize, he can then consume only a small amount to assess the effects of this unknown food.

Rat brun

Reproduction

Her sexual maturity occurs between 50 and 60 days after birth. The rat only reaches sexual maturity at 5 to 6 weeks of age in both sexes. The reproduction of the rat stops between 12 and 18 months.

The brown rat is an extremely prolific animal. Indeed, a single female can give birth to around sixty pups per year. At this rate, a female could theoretically have 1000 offspring in a year and 2500 in her whole life, but a young female can, in principle, give only a maximum of 10 young during her first litter.

The female can be fertilized again a few hours after giving birth. The spleen gives birth on average from 6 to 12 pups per litter and can have 4 to 7 litters per year.

The gestation period in rats is 20 to 22 days.

Health

Wild rats can transmit, like other animals, many diseases in humans: plague, salmonellosis, leptospirosis, typhus, fevers, rabies, trichinosis.

It carries diseases and bacteria that represent a real risk to the health of humans and other animals.

Behavior and social life

The rat has an omnivorous twilight or even nocturnal activity. Indeed, in addition to animal and vegetable matter, it eats away everything in its path: paper, wood, pipes, electric cables. Certain metals (copper, tin, lead) do not resist the teeth of rats.

The social life of the brown rat is very hierarchical unlike other species like the black rat.

Groups consist of at least 20 members and can reach up to 200 members, but they generally consist of 40 to 60 animals The unity of a group is based on smell, a family smell excludes any individual who don't have it.

Rats therefore understand each other mainly thanks to ultrasounds that are inaudible to humans. Thus a rat can warn the others of surrounding dangers or of its personal state.

Sensory perceptions

Smell is the predominant sense. It is by their smell that the rat recognizes its congeners, that it recognizes its territory and that it can find a path if it has marked it with its urine. Smell is also essential for foraging.

The Norway rat has a very developed taste and does not hesitate to sort its food to find the foods that it likes. He can sometimes be suspicious of a different food than the one he knows and he records tastes (which allows him to know if a known food has been modified).

Hearing also plays an important social role.

IF IN DOUBT AND FOR MORE INFORMATION, PLEASE CONTACT US

Les rats

Le 12 mars 2020

Le rat intervient soit comme réservoir du microbe (bactérie, virus ou parasite) qu’il héberge sans le transformer. Soit comme hôte intermédiaire dans le cycle du parasite (qui va se transformer dans l’organisme du rat et y devenir infectieux pour l’homme).

Il est alors infectieux soit par sa morsure, soit par ses déjections, ou par son sang prélevé et transmis à l’homme via un vecteur (insecte, tique).

Le rat brun ou rat d'égout

Le rat brun ou rat, rat d’égout ou surmulot

Caractéristiques physiques

Le rat adulte a une taille comprise entre 20 et 28cm sans compter la queue. Sa queue est d’une longueur de 17 à 23 cm. Adulte, sa masse corporelle varie en fonction du sexe entre 200 gr à plus de 650 gr.

Son espérance de vie est d’environ 18 mois

Alimentation

Le rat brun est omnivore opportuniste. Il se nourrit de tout ce qu’il parvient à dérober contrairement à d’autres animaux. Un rat mange et boit journalièrement l’équivalent de 10% de son poids. Les préférences alimentaires du rat brun sont proches du chat, puisqu’il préfère la viande aux fruits et céréales, bien que selon les circonstances il puisse ne consommer que des céréales.

Le rat brun se montre extrêmement prudent lorsqu’il découvre toute nouvelle nourriture. Il peut parfois attendre plusieurs jours avant de goûter un aliment qu’il ne reconnaît pas, il peut alors n’en consommer qu’une petite quantité pour évaluer les effets de cet aliment inconnu.

Rat brun

Reproduction

Sa maturité sexuelle survient entre 50 et 60 jours après la naissance. Le rat a une maturité sexuelle à l’âge de 5 à 6 semaines seulement, et ce, chez les deux sexes. La reproduction du rat cesse entre 12 et 18 mois.

Le rat brun est un animal extrêmement prolifique. En effet, une seule femelle peut donner naissance à une soixantaine de petits par an. À ce rythme, une femelle pourrait théoriquement avoir 1000 descendants en une année et 2500 dans sa vie entière mais une jeune femelle ne peut donner, en principe, qu’un maximum de 10 jeunes lors de sa première portée.

La femelle peut être à nouveau fécondée quelques heures après la mise bas. La rate accouche en moyenne de 6 à 12 petits par portée et peut avoir 4 à 7 portées par an.

La durée de gestation chez le rat est de 20 à 22 jours.

Santé

Les rats sauvages peuvent transmettre, comme d’autres animaux, de nombreuses maladies chez l’Homme : peste, salmonellose, leptospirose, typhus, fièvres, rage, trichinose.

Il est porteur de maladies et de bactéries qui représentent un risque réel pour la santé des humains et des autres animaux.

Comportement et vie sociale

Le rat a une activité crépusculaire voire nocturne, omnivore. En effet, outre les matières animales et végétales, il ronge tout ce qui se trouve sur son passage: papier, bois, tuyaux, câbles électriques. Certains métaux (cuivre, étain, plomb) ne résistent pas aux dents des rats.

La vie sociale du rat brun est très hiérarchisée contrairement à d’autres espèces comme le rat noir.

Les groupes se composent d’au moins 20 membres et peuvent atteindre jusqu’à 200 membres, mais ils sont généralement constitués de 40 à 60 animaux L’unité d’un groupe se fonde sur l’odeur, une odeur familiale exclut tout individu qui ne la possède pas.

Les rats se comprennent donc principalement grâce à des ultrasons inaudibles pour l’homme. Ainsi un rat peut prévenir les autres de dangers environnants ou bien de son état personnel.

Perceptions sensorielles

L’odorat est le sens prédominant. C’est à leur odeur que le rat reconnaît ses congénères, qu’il reconnaît son territoire et qu’il peut retrouver un chemin s’il l’a marqué de son urine. L’odorat est également essentiel pour la recherche de nourriture.

Le surmulot possède un goût très développé et il n’hésite pas à trier sa nourriture pour trouver les aliments qui lui plaisent. Il peut parfois se montrer méfiant face à une nourriture différente de celle qu’il connaît et il enregistre les goûts (ce qui lui permet de savoir si un aliment connu a été modifié).

L’ouïe joue également un rôle social important.

EN CAS DE DOUTES ET POUR PLUS DE RENSEIGNEMENTS, N’HÉSITEZ PAS À NOUS CONTACTER